Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Northumberland County Show

I was up bright and early so that I could be on my way to Northumberland County Show for 0900. Even then, there were a good number of cars queuing for entry, but we were soon parked near the show field at Bywell.

I had a great day. It was cloudy with no sunshine, but not to cold. At least I was not battling with contrasty light conditions.

Early on I met my dear friend, BJ. I thought she had gone back to the USA so it was a huge surprise to see her. We had a coffee and a good catch-up chat. I nearly blipped my picture of her, but I thought you might like to see one of the show activities.

I have images of sheep shearing, Cumberland wrestling and winners of cattle and dog classes. All nearly made the cut. The tug of war won out in the end. I was invited into the ring to take photographs - there are times when a DSLR makes you look like a professional - so I was in there with alacrity. It did make me a bit close to the action, but that didn't matter too much.

My electronic step counter vibrates if I do 8,000 steps and it vibrated during the afternoon, so I must have walked a few miles today. It was all flat and hapless Hattie did not object.

This is a great family show. There were lots of small children enjoying the show. It's also a very doggy environment when everyone with a dog/s seems to bring them along, whether or not they are in the dog show. 

While I was out, Mum was invited out to tea with friends, so that was good.

I made a lentil and mushroom casserole for our dinner, adding some very elderly Marsala from the back of the pantry. Delicious.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.