An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Define Urgent...

At 9am on the dot I called the Wheelchair Repair Service (WRS) and my conversation with the lady went thus:-
 
ME - Good morning.  I would like to report three faults with my son's power wheelchair.
WRS - No problem, let me take a note.  Ok...
ME -    First of all, the front right hand wheel has sheered off so it only has three wheels.  Secondly the power keeps cutting off for no reason causing the chair to come to an abrupt halt.  This happened crossing a busy road and the chair had to be pushed manually, which isn't easy as it's very heavy. Finally, the lateral supports at the chest are to use a technical term wonky.
WRS  - That's fine thanks.  Now is it his power chair you're having problems with?
ME  - Erm, given problem no 2 I'd say yes.
WRS -  Oh yes, of course.  And would you class these repairs as urgent?
ME (laughing) - Well given that it only has three wheels, I'd say yes.
WRS - (also laughing) I'm so sorry, I am useless at this time of the morning.  Not helped by the fact I am in the middle of a hot flush.  I promise if I'd been taking your call about 4pm I'd be fully compos mentis. 
 
I thanked her for making me laugh and gave her the rest of the day off :-))
 
I had a bit of a mishap at lunchtime.  I took a step towards the fridge to put my bottle of water back and my left foot kind of slipped away from me.  I automatically tensed my thigh and knee muscles to save myself and it was all rather painful.  I know you won't believe me, but I may have said a bad word.  As a result I've been stuck indoors all day sitting with my feet up in my comfy chair instead of out in the garden enjoying all this glorious sunshine.  
 
Alan meanwhile has been to Aberfoyle with Ed and enjoyed plenty time in the sun.  He's looking quite sun kissed.  
 
Thought I would give you a break from building work blips and blip the tulips Cathy brought me on Saturday.   The light streaming past the massive digger that was RIGHT outside my kitchen window seemed to highlight them beautifully. 
 
 
Can't believe this is 1st June already.  And even more unbelievable is it's my beautiful God-daughter Emily's 18th Birthday


 Happy Birthday Em, I love you to the moon and back and I am so proud of the feisty, self sufficient, clever and talented young woman you have become.   Still wish you were only three though :-)) xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.