Sunday Jobs

Sunday started at about 7.30, but I tried my best to doze. Two glasses of red wine last night didn't help...although they did help last night! I'm not really a drinker. The headache didn't last that long.

We had coffee in the garden, the lawn newly cut by Henry last night. I made a list of everything we wanted to get done, then numbered the jobs in priority order and put our initials against them. It was like being at work, but of course at work I just do the list for myself these days.

The good thing is, it worked. Garage tidied, car washed, water & oil checked in both cars, motorbike cleaned, greenbuild form completed, bathroom cleaned, a bit of weeding done, blind fitted in Henrys room, conservatory mapped out on patio. Everything! I even fitted in a nice roast dinner for 5. Yes, 5. Daniel is home. Daniel and lots of stuff. He is settled next door for now, where he has a bed, but spends the day time in here with the Wifi.

Daniel decided Bracken needed a trim, to remove all the matted bits of fur I haven't been able to brush through. He looks much tidier but has been sulking ever since. The garden looked like the floor of a very busy hair salon by the time he had finished, but at least Daniel did rake up all the discarded dog hair.

In fact he has been pretty useful today. He has sorted out google chrome on my new computer, which he says is the best for me to use, and loaded Microsoft office. I'm pretty well good to go now, so later in the week I will spend some time researching the area where we are going on holiday.

Mollie has been trying hard to revise. She is going back to college tomorrow and will spend her penultimate week at Karen and Neil's, with A2 exams Wednesday and Friday. Then one the week after and she's home for good. I was rubbish at exams and particularly hated my english A level. Ironic really, because now I love to write. I just hated being forced to analyse and criticise what others had written. My interpretation was always wrong, according to my teacher. Now, looking back as an adult, I wonder why I was asked for my interpretation if that wasn't what he really wanted. I know Mollie will do her best, and it will all be over soon.

After cooking a roast dinner, I sat down by the summer house and the chickens to sew 3 badges on my camp blanket. I thought about Helen & Sarah, my Linton guide leader friends. The badges were from Lincoln (April with Jon) The Royal Yacht Britannia (May with Karen & Joanne) and one I've had for ages from Blists Hill. Actually, we went there when Daniel was nearly 2. So just 18 years that's been knocking about on my dressing table! I buy a cloth badge wherever I go if there is one. This side of my blanket is non guiding, and the other side all guide related. I love this blanket. It is something I would rescue from the house if there was a fire...probably before any animals (but not before people)

Had a nice bath. Work tomorrow and dog walking now allocated to Daniel, so that's a big positive in my book. I might even suggest he cooks dinner too....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.