Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Archie likes a bit of pomp

Listened to Desert Island Discs this morning, and I'm so glad I wasn't dozing through it. I heard the most inspiring, wonderful man speaking about his work as a surgeon in war torn countries. His name is David Nott. His stories of performing life saving operations while the hospital was being bombed were truly moving. All his stories, including a recount of his private meeting with the Queen, made me weep. (Archie woke from his doze to look enquiringly at me, sweet boy). It's available on iPlayer for those who can access that.

Then we watched the Queen's birthday bash in St Paul's - I always like to see what fashion calamities the Princesses Eugenie and Beatrice have decided to entertain us with. One of them (never know which is which) did not disappoint in a spectacularly weird outfit, though the other one wore a disappointingly passable red dress.

Our new sun loungers have arrived. And so has a week of cold wet weather. Just as well I haven't got the barbecue out yet!

JR had to take the car in for its first service. When they're selling it to you they say that of course they will drop you off at work etc, but come the time, "Oh no, we haven't got spare staff..." Grrrr. However, she arranged to be picked up at the garage by a work colleague, and spent her day off in school. Still, only a couple more weeks to go.

She has taken Archie up the Hill while I tested out the loungers. I will have to make room in my shed for them. I need to have a bit of an energy spurt soon to cut the hedge and sort out the shed before my looming knee operation.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.