Fawns in the Garden

I was taking pictures of their mother as she walked around nibbling on mostly weeds. I didn't even see her two babies because they were snoozing in the little patch of open ground in our garden where the local deer take a rest. I went on to photograph the arum and then looked up and saw two little brown spotted fawns asleep. I walked a bit closer and took several photos of them before they decided it was time to skeedaddle. It was a thrill to see them still wearing their baby spots. That is a rare sight for me. I've seen lots of slightly older fawns but few this young. How sweet they are.

I took the car in for an estimate today and left it at the body shop. A nice driver from Hertz met me at the shop and drove me to the airport to pick up a rental car, a Hyundai, about the same size and shape as my Prius. Not a bad little car to drive fortunately.

I had seen the mama deer when I arrived home so I went inside and got my cameras and went for a walk. Though it was threatening rain, it stayed dry until the last bit of my walk. I got wet but my cameras didn't. I'm glad of that.

Yesterday I finally sent my camera and lens off to the Panasonic repair center. They should arrive there on Monday. It will take awhile to get them repaired but at least they are now in the process instead of waiting on my table for word from my insurance company. Can't wait to get them back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.