BRIDGE OVER THE RIVER DERWENT

I didn't sleep well last night - too stressed about  Blackie.  He wasn't happy in the garage - he either wanted to be outdoors - or into the house. When I checked my Fitbit stats this morning I saw I had had only 3 hours 56 mins sleep.  However I didn't feel too tired when I got up at 8.45am.

I had an appointment at the Musculoskeletal Clinic in Blaydon at 11.10am.  Before that I needed to make a vets appointment for Blackie.  So I was trying to get ready whilst waiting for the phone to be answered by the vets - the line was busy for ages.  Anyway I made an appointment for 5pm.  Then I wondered if I should get in touch with the RSPCA as I had read that they can give you a code for free treatment.  Should have done this first but my mind was all over the place.  So I had to check online for the RSPCA phone number.  Finally got through to a very nice helpful lady who gave me a code which I needed to tell the vet for free treatment.  However she wasn't sure if the vet I was booked with would accept the code.  According to her records the other vets in my village definitely accepted the code.  So I phoned this other vet and made an appointment there for 2.30pm.  Then I had to phone the first vet to cancel the appointment there.  Whew.

Quickly finished getting ready, fed all 3 cats, emptied litter trays and then walked down to the village to catch my bus.  Realised I hadn't had any breakfast. 

I was a bit early for my appointment so I got of the bus the stop before the clinic and walked over the road bridge across the River Derwent to take my blip shot.  Lovely view - and everything looks so green and fresh after the rain of yesterday.

My appointment took around 30 mins and I have one exercise that I need to be doing to help my mobility and the clinician is going to book me a physiotherapy appointment.

Went to get a bus home.  The bus to my village wasn't due for ages so I just got the first bus that came and went to The Metrocentre.  Quick look around TKMaxx.  Bought 2 pairs of secateurs ( couldn't decide which one to get so got them both ) and some gardening gloves.  Then I got the bus home.

Decided to ring my brother to ask if he could help get Blackie into the cat carrier.  No answer.  Tried numerous times.  No answer.  Phoned my sister in law to see if she could contact him.  She tried a few times - no luck.  So she came herself.  I didn't really want her to have to come as she is so busy at the moment with her job and looking after her sick mother.  But I was very grateful that she did,

Anyway things did not go well.  I had already put some Feliway spray in the garage to try and calm Blackie but as soon as I tried to get hold of him he went wild - snarling and hissing.  We did manage to put a towel over him and finally get him into the basket.  Poor thing was very stressed so I just kept my hands on him for a while to try and calm him.  He seemed to settle a bit. Then we put the lid on the carrier - and snapped it shut.  My sister in law took the carrier out of the front door towards her car while I locked the front door behind us.  Next thing Blackie burst out of the carrier and ran off.  The catches on the side of the carrier mustn't have been snapped shut properly. Disaster.  No sign of Blackie - and I haven't seen him since.

So my sister in law went home.  I phoned the vet to cancel the appointment. And I finally had my breakfast - at 3pm.

I have spent the rest of the day quietly.  The weather was lovely - sunny and warm  - so I sat out on the garden bench for a while.  Nice to relax at last.

Trying to put Blackie out of my mind for the moment.  If/when he turns up again I will have a rethink.

Steps today - 8,663

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.