Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Yet more scarecrows and a trip to the RVI

It's been a funny sort of day.

First of all I was up early to go to the dentist for 0850. Yes, the time was correct, but the appointment is tomorrow. I really think I need to revert to a paper diary.

So, I drove from Corbridge to Hexham and did a food shop. Great. Tick.

Mum's right hand has been very uncomfortable since the operation. After her breakfast, I decided to 'phone the hospital to discuss this. The sister in Plastics suggested I ask our practice nurse to undo the dressing and see if she could make Mum more comfortable.

Hmm. I wasn't so sure about that and was pretty sure they would not want to touch it.  So I did it myself. It was quickly apparent that the little finger was being forced under the ring finger (which had been operated on) and there was no way to release the little finger without making a new back slab.

That meant a trip to Newcastle. We were very well looked after. A very experienced nurse dismantled the dressings and could see the problem. Then a lovely physio came along and made a new backslab. They both took a lot of time and care over what they did and Mum was soon much more comfortable. Thank you Collette and Megan.

On our way home, we stopped to chat to these two gardeners who are tending the flower beds in the centre of the village. I know that I said there would be no more scarecrows, but these two are great fun.


I  watched Andy Murray win his game - just a few scary moments. I did some gardening.

The rest of the day has been dominated by the news of Jo Cox's murder. How tragic. Words fail me when I think of the loss for her family and the wider community.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.