Happy!

Today is a momentous day. Not only is it the EU referendum but it was also Miss L's sports day. And she won a race!!!! 
The day was so drizzly and miserable first thing that I assumed sports day would be cancelled but they went ahead anyway which was excellent!
The first few races were watched from under umbrellas on soaking wet benches but gradually it cleared up and in the end it was much brighter and boiling hot.
Miss L had her usual worries this morning about always coming last and not being able to run and I offered the usual platitudes about enjoying it, doing her best, not having to be the best but just having fun.
She came last in her first race but didn't seem too bothered. Then she only went and won the obstacle race. Woohoo!!!!
The race ended with them balancing balls on tennis racquets and walking to the finish line. I was on tenterhooks as she slowly but surely made her way to the line without dropping the ball. And she made it, yay!!!!!!! I may have whooped!
She was over the moon, bouncing up and down and beaming with pride. Brilliant!!
The relay was as exciting as ever. Even more so with the amount of children falling over at the turn on the wet grass!! After the lead changing hands many times it was a dead heat so everyone was happy!
I stayed and had a tasty lunch chatting to Mrs A and then I headed home for an afternoon mopping the floor and filling bags with rubbish.
Mr K got home at 6.30pm and we headed up to the polling station with the Little Misses. We bumped into Mrs S and Mr C coming out from having voted and had a funny five minutes. Miss E was treated to some choice language from Mrs S explaining what the EU can do to itself. And what we can do to it. She's firmly in the leave camp!!!
As I looked at the ballot paper I hesitated a bit and Miss E said "Come on Mummy, you said you were voting stay"
So I did!
I'm watching David Dimbleby as I type. I suspect I'll be asleep before too many results are in!
What will we wake up to?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.