The River Tweed

First day of the school holiday and I was wide awake before 6am.  I have no idea what that was all about.  I lay for a while, and eventually got up sometime after six, and tackled my ironing mountain.  I am pleased to report that I made good progress, but as ever I always get to a point when I just can’t be bothered doing any more, and it is all still sitting waiting to be put away.  I caught up with a couple of programmes on the iPlayer so a good use of my early morning.

Late morning we decided to head to Paxton House for lunch and a walk.  Just as we got there the heavens opened and it poured.  We sat in the car until it had cleared and then headed out for our pre-lunch walk.  Lunch in the stables tea room was really nice.  We all had different things and all enjoyed our lunches.  We walked out of the café and bumped straight into friends.  They had just arrived, so we continued with our walk – and bumped into them again later on, and we finished our walk together.  All in all a lovely afternoon out, and we managed to dodge the worst of the showers.

BB finished his first reading challenge book on the way home (see him reading while waiting on lunch in the extra) and can’t wait to go to the library tomorrow to get his first stickers/cards.

BB is watching the last Harry Potter film and TT is making tomorrow’s tea.  I am drinking a glass of fizz!  Here’s to the holidays!

Here is a boat on the River Tweed at Paxton.  last time we visited I admired the candelabra primulas (see extra) - they are still blooming (see today's extra).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.