Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Texas Ranger (Leucophyllum fructescens)

When the hot summer temperatures kick in, a few shrubs begin a flurry of flowering, and none do it better than a group of plants known as Texas sages or Texas rangers. Texas rangers are a group of shrubs from the Chihuahuan desert  that love heat and humidity.  Sometimes referred to as “barometer bush,” it often flowers in response to watering or increased humidity in summer and early fall. They respond to summer rains with spectacular displays of flowers.

I planted mine from a very small potted plant.  I was asked at the time if I wanted one which grew to about 6 feet (1.8m) or a larger variety, which grew about two feet more (2.4m).  I opted for the smaller. I guess the nursery got it wrong.  Mine grew to about 12 feet (3.7m) wide and 10 feet (3m) high.

The leaves of Texas ranger shrubs have a grayish cast due to the tiny hairs that cover them, which help to limit water loss from their leaves while also reflecting the sun’s rays. You can also see small hairs covering the flowers, which serve the same purpose.  The flowers are easily blown to the ground but come and go frequently when conditions are right.

I've never pruned it, as you can tell from the extra, a shot of the entire bush.  Next spring I am going to have it pruned by about a third.  It's a great spot for the hummingbirds to rest and sleep, especially because there aren't any trees close by my house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.