Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Political Allies

I've known Jo for almost as many years as I have lived in Arizona but hadn't seen her in over two years.  She once ran for the Arizona Legislature, but sadly, fell a little short against an  incumbent.  Their loss is our gain. We are very fortunate to have her as chair of the Pima County Democratic Party. She's a tremendous and inclusive leader.

Ron served as our Congressman after Gabby Giffords (with me in my fatter days). She resigned following the shot in the head by a would-be assassin and mass murderer in Tucson on 8 January 2011 (seven days after I started blipping).  At that time, he was serving as her Regional Director and took two bullets on that horrific day.  Unfortunately, he lost his re-election bid in 2014 by about 160 vote of the tens of thousands cast.  Now he does many charitable works in the community and speaks often about politics, especially the need for common sense gun reform.

Throughout the years as president of the Democratic Women in Action, I got to know some truly amazing people.  Both are wonderful leaders and represent all that is truly good in people and those of us who hold (Dd)emocratic values dear to our hearts.


Doesn't it almost look like I photo-bombed them?  (I asked and they were happy to do it.) Awkward to be standing while they were sitting but it's not too bad of a picture of us.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.