Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Monsoon Sunset

I had a great day.

It started out kind of weird.  I got the results of the MRI on my knee.  I am not satisfied with the simplistic interpretation, diagnosis, prognosis and treatment plan laid out for me.  I will be seeking a second opinion on that.  But I let him stick another needle in it.  I left something in the room and someone helped me.  I smiled.  I forgot to ask him a question.  Someone did it for me.  I smiled again.  Everyone showed patience and was nice to me.

It was a lovely day, weather-wise.  I wanted to do some quick research on the knee before I left so I sat outside on the bench near the valet (wonderful parking service at Tucson Orthopedic).  It was about 84º/29º with the sky blanketed with high clouds.  There was also a nice breeze.  Little chance of rain despite the clouds, too.  Perfect in my book.  So I was a happy camper. 

When I gave my ticket to the valet to have my car retrieved, I mentioned the pleasant weather.  His reply?  "Yeah, but it's humid."  Tell you what...lately, if I can easily breathe, it's not too humid.  Anyway, it's not like when these guys have to run when it's 110F!  Grouser.

But the gentleman who actually retrieved my car was kind and assisted  putting the knee brace on my leg for me.  He got a bigger tip than I had planned.  I love random acts of kindness because I try to perform them, too.

I drove calmly through the midday city traffic (the clouds made for perfect conditions)  and made my usual stop at the Starbuck's in the Fry's supermarket on the way home.  I found out that the presidents of both the store chain and the big corporation were going to be visiting the store on Friday morning (for what I didn't know at the time would be their second "Grand Opening"). 

I giggled and teased the employees as they straightened the pictures on the wall and the cheeses in the cooler, put up new signs and dusted the tops of displays.  I even offered to hose down and scrub all of the grocery carts for them.  That got a big laugh from the people around me (the employees not the customers.  They probably thought I was being loud and obnoxious). 

I eventually picked up some groceries and left the store.  I took a deep breath of the cool, refreshing air.  It was wonderful and that, too, put a big smile on my face.  I had gotten a lot of business done on the phone while I was there which pleased me.

I got to the car and began the the drive home.  But as I turned the corner out of the plaza, the sun was in my eyes.  Oh, no!  I realized we were probably in for a colorful sunset because of that sun, the first I had seen all day.  I lived seven miles away and it was going to be a race home.  Plus, I'd have to put the correct lens on the camera and find a decent viewing spot. 

As you can see, I made it, and with plenty of time to spare.  I hadn't taken a photo all day and didn't have a clue what I was going to blip.  Sometimes you don't have to think about it.  They come to you.

Another beautiful, relaxing moment and reason to smile.  But the day wasn't done.  One last thing.

As dusk fell, I went out to scrub what was then the empty water dishes.  As I was wrapping the hose I got a glimpse of a Gambel's quail family, a mama and about eight babies, scamper under my Texas Ranger bush.  I stopped in my tracks and froze. My grin must have been from ear to ear. 

I heard the occasional little squeaky peep.  It confirmed they were there.  After about five minutes, the mama came out and went up on the wall near the red water dish. She made a lot of noise, obviously communicating with (warning?) her young ones.  Then she walked past the bush towards Elaine's, where I'm pretty sure they nest. 

Within a couple of minutes I stopped hearing mama then the peeping stopped.  They must have hopped up on the wall behind the bush and scampered home.  I hadn't moved.  The phone's camera had flipped on to the flash setting. It had gotten dark.

Honestly, I knew I wouldn't have ever gotten a usable photo on my phone but the stalking of anything I always find enjoyable, especially when I know there's a decent chance I'm going to see something,  be it a hummingbird, a sunset, a sunrise or a baby quail.  It's almost always worth the wait.  And even if it doesn't result in a nice, presentable photograph it almost always makes me smile.

Today filled me with peace and happiness.  And every bit of it put a smile on this face.

It was about time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.