Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

With rapt attention

I realise that the reverse of Parkinson's Law does not exist. Today I tried to put a quart into a pint pot.

My plan for the day was modest. I was going to spend time preparing and mounting prints for the Hexham and District Photographic Society exhibition which will be in Hexham Abbey this year.  Apart from the normal chores, that was all I had to do.

The best laid plans.........

At 0900 Bob phoned to say he had a computer problem with a window that would not go away and told him his computer was blocked and he had to phone a number to get help.

"Switch off and wait for me" was really all I could say. I knew I could not give instructions over the phone for this.  As you might expect, my first attempt seemed successful but was not. I now think I've killed the malware off..........

Back home, I was feeding the birds and popped into our boiler room, not sure why. The stench was overwhelming. I assumed that one of our gorgeous felines had taken a mouse in and it had died.  Further investigation revealed over 20 dead bats. You may remember that Mum had to deal with a couple of bats in the house while I was away.

Bowlby tried to help me remove the corpses - I preferred no help!

So half the day had gone.

Then I heard that the other Marjorie had phoned and was coming for tea this afternoon. Arghh! I love seeing her, but those prints needed doing.

I took deep breaths, drank a cup of coffee and headed off to the dentist for my hygenist appointment.

Home in time to mount one print, have lunch, make fruit salad and be ready for Marjorie and Jenny, another friend.

We had a delightful time with them.

Time to mount print number 2, have short rest (nearly went to sleep) and then make cauliflower cheese for tea. Just made it out in time to meet Lesley and we were off to a club preview of our exhibition.

There is some excellent work, both in the prints and the projected images. By now, you will have guessed that my image shows club members watching a screen with a slideshow.

Tomorrow I'm walking, so it should be a much easier day. The bat saga is unfinished and I will update you in due course. So sorry that they all roosted in our boiler room and died. I've left the light on in there tonight to discourage any more. (I suspect we have a roost in the roof.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.