Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

On top of the world

The Haltwhistle Walkers were out in force today for a 12 mile walk from Nenthead, led by George.  He had timings in mind and told us we would be back at 4pm. This meant that he led from the front and stopped infrequently. He made it back by 4 - some of us were a few minutes behind!

Here we are on top of the moors. This used to be a major mining area for lead and silver. Methodism was very strong in this area and the Quaker bosses were happy about that.

Signs of the mines can be seen if you know where to look.

We enjoyed wonderful open views for most of the day.

The walk was probably 12.5 miles. I found the tussocky moorland quite hard going. At one point I was suddenly struck by cramp in my left thigh. I could not move at all. I suppose this is what happens to top athletes when they suddenly get cramp in a race. (There the resemblance ends of course!)

Our route back to Nenthead took us alongside the model village created by one man in his back garden. Today he was on hand to tell us about how he creates the buildings. See my extra picture. His enthusiasm was infectious.

After a swift half in the Miners Arms, I headed for my car - and was drenched as the heavens opened. It was all over in 10 minutes, but that was too long for me.

Bit tired tonight..............

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.