For Handel, Mark di Suvero

We had a very busy day today. Arvin went to his Lynden day group and I painted in open studio. I started a new painting, a portrait of Arvin to be included in a show at the Colophon Cafe in September. 

Arvin got home soon after I did and we had a bit of time for me to change into concert going attire and make a left overs dinner for us. Arvin took a short nap. After dinner we headed up to WWU for another Bellingham Festival of Music concert. It was a long and wonderful concert featuring a concerto by Mendelssohn. The soloist was a young Russian pianist who was phenomenally good. What was interesting is that he was a substitute for the original planned soloist who had to cancel due to illness. I think we lucked out as I can't imagine a better performance. The concert ended with Mahler's fourth symphony. I honestly thought I didn't like Mahler. So wrong. I loved the symphony. The orchestra and the soprano in the last movement played and sang perfectly. Sadly only one more concert to go in the Festival.

The photo is the sculpture called "For Handel" that is located in the courtyard near the Performing Arts Center where the concert was held. They light was amazing at intermission when I took this photo.
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.