Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Cracking Up

Mrs. Cardinal is nuts...over peanuts.  Watching the birds try to pick them up is pretty funny.  However, once they begin, they are very determined.  I've really only seen the cardinals, Mourning doves and White-winged doves give it a whirl.  But I have spotted both White-crowned sparrows and Cactus wrens cracking shells open to get at the nut inside.  They wait for a peanut to fall from the wall into the stones.  I really love their antics. 
The shot is a bit over-exposed because the camera was on the wrong setting.  In the afternoon, my yard is half sunny and half shade.  I'm continually readjusting based on the location of the birds.

Chaos during the first day of the Republican Convention. Strong arm tactics by the Party to squash a revolt.  (I'm behind posting by a day so I'm writing this on Monday.)  Awww... I hate to see such dissent among the Never-Trump and Pro-Trump delegates.  :-))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.