Nicky and her Nikon

By NickyR

Mayfield Lavender Farm

As I finally managed to get through nearly all my chores (including that ironing!) I took myself off this afternoon to Mayfield Lavender Farm in Surrey. While not quite the beautiful wide lavender fields of Provence, it is not bad, complete with tourists, adorable blonde haired little girls having a photo shoot amongst the lavender, and a 'real' bride and her father who stepped out of the bridal car to have a few photos before the wedding ceremony. I say a 'real' bride meaning one who is actually getting married today and not one who is having a photo shoot weeks before the wedding in one of the top locations in the world, as is usually the case these days.

It was quite lovely to be there smelling the heavenly lavender and listen to the buzzing of the bees - who unfortunately did not quite manage to drown out the screaming of the aforementioned little girls who had by now got stung by the bees. Actually I can sympathise with them as yesterday morning while I was standing at the kitchen sink I got stung by a bee that was lying on the floor and the initial pain is quite surprising as it is so intense, I felt like screaming too! I have added some extras, including one of a couple that I think were effected by all the surrounding birds and the bees!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.