And the Gold Medal

...........goes to - wrperry for her glorious image "Yellow"

Wow, who would have imagined just how wonderful this week would turn out for Tiny Tuesday.

*   95 entries were submitted
*   37 images received votes
*   61 blippers voted

In honour of this momentous week of macro magnificence, and in the spirit of the upcoming Olympic Games in Rio, I felt it was befitting that we had a podium presentation.  With a massive drum roll here are the results of a monumental week.

Gold Medal
wrperry                 Yellow

Silver Medal
pipersmom           American Rubyspot Damselfly

Bronze Medal
mpp26                  Teeny Weeny Fungus  

Tied for Fourth   
WharfedaleBex    Small Tortoiseshell 
and
weeflecky             Well Hello There 

An enthusiastic and Heart Felt “Honorable Mention” to the other 32 entries that received votes from Blippers this week.


(In Alphabetical Order)
60plus
AJC
Aliscotia
Beckett
carolinaV
CatchitWhenICan
chrisf
Cowgirl carol
Crispin25
dibufulco
DonnaWanna
Freyjad
Gitama
greg_lovett
hrubieszowianka
Ingeborg
JDO
Kwdiane
Lainymac
LesleyAlsford
Maureen482
MotherShipton
Nickymags888
OldTimer
Osuzanna
Paladian
Photo-a-dayRetirement
richardg
sk
Tiebreaker
treehugger
walkingMarj

If you voted for one of the blippers listed above and haven't yet told them, why not drop by their journal and let them know that you thought their image was one of the best submitted this week.  I'm sure they will be delighted to hear from you.

Thank you all so much for embracing the first of what I'm sure will be many "Blippers Choice" on Tiny Tuesday over the coming years.  I have to admit, I was being a bit sneaky when I dreamed this up.  I thought it would give us a list of blippers who had experienced the joy of browsing through all of the entries for Tiny Tuesday and making a selection as a "HOST".  GUESS WHAT, thanks to all who fell into the trap, we now have a wonderful list of blippers that osuzanna and Jensphotos can strong arm into having a go at hosting :-).....You think I'm joking!!

Seriously though, it was interesting to see the diverse range of images that were voted for.  It just goes to show how we view the images posted and I'm delighted with that fact.  Well done to everyone who entered and to those of you who managed to find the time to contribute your selection this week.  I have been thrilled with the positive comments from so, so many of you.  YES YOU HAD A VOICE and it's wonderful that so many of you embraced the concept so wholeheartedly.

I felt it fitting that in honour of our first "Blippers Choice" and in an Olympic year I should take a macro of the glorious GOLDEN wattle that is bursting out all over the bush at Wombat Hollow.  If you look closely, you will see a flower in full bloom, one bud that is just about to pop and one that is still thinking about it!!

I just want to close by saying this from my heart..........I will always be proud of the fact that I convinced so many of you back in May 2015 to take part in a month of May Macro Mayhem.  This of course led to what has now been 60 weeks of brilliant macro photography being posted every week in the Tiny Tuesday challenge.  I will be taking a back seat for a little while and osuzanna and jensphotos will be looking after the challenge.  I just need to tackle some personal challenges and feel the freedom to do so on a daily basis.  Don't worry though, I'll still be contributing and keeping an eye on your brilliance.

PS - I urge you to visit dbifulco's page to read about the upcoming Alternative Olympic Games.  It's going to be a lot of fun and we can have a lot of laughs while the Olympics are playing out.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.