A TRIP TO SOUTH SHIELDS

As the weather was Ok I decided to make a trip to the coast.  South Shields is the easiest for me to get to so I got the bus to Gateshead and then the Metro to South Shields.  Walked along Ocean Road to the seafront.

Ocean Road is a long road full of small hotels and B & B establishments as well as fish and chip shops, Indian and Italian restaurants, Ice cream parlours as well as the usual shops. Its really thriving and there are hardly any empty shops.

The seafront and beach were fairly busy. Lots of families enjoying themselves.  It was rather misty at the coast and there was no sunshine but it was fairly warm.  I walked right to the end of the South Pier - one mile.  There were lots of fishermen on the pier and most of them seemed to have caught fish.

This DFDS ferry appeared and was heading for the River Tyne to dock in North Shields.  It think it was returning from Amsterdam.

I took so many photos it was a hard decision which to blip.  I put some on Flickr - take a look if you are interested.

SOUTH PIER

BEACH

LIGHTHOUSE AND BOAT OUT AT SEA

BIRD ON A ROCK


WIRE SCULPTURE OF A SWIMMER AT THE HAVEN POINT SWIMMING POOL

ANOTHER WIRE SCULPTURE

SIGNPOST ON OCEAN ROAD

BEACH, LIGHTHOUSE AND SOUTH PIER


I got home around 6.30pm and have spent a quiet night in front of the TV.  Watched the live episode of Mrs Brown.  Reminded me of when I saw the live show at the Tyne Theatre in Newcastle many years ago.  I had won a free ticket and at that time had never even heard of Mrs Brown.  I enjoyed it very much - especially all the ad libs which were even more outrageous than those on the TV show.

Steps today - 16,005

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.