Footloose and Fancy Free

His Lordship's Wednesday sorties to the hills at Lamington have been severely restricted this year by the lack of a car and lately, with the departure of his younger walking partner to The Emerald Isle, have completely stopped; but no longer, as he has discovered that a bus from Edinburgh to Dumfries will take him where he wants to go. His only worry is whether it will materialise to bring him back.

Me?, I have no such worries having the day to myself.  It started off in the sun with a bike ride to meet up for coffee with a cycling friend.
As is the wont with the cycling fraternity, the table was set to provide enough calories for a cycle run of 100 miles. I couldn't manage both a scone and a slice of sponge cake * filled with cream and strawberries, and to make matters worse, having chosen the cake, it was impossible to say 'no' to a second slice. The 640 calories of biking effort is no match for this excess, but I have to say I rode back at an energy fuelled cracking speed

I have the intention to sit this afternoon with my knitting and watch the cycling time trials......... I wonder how many slices of strawberry sponge they would need for these efforts..

*see extra image

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.