Saumur, La Loire, France!

We seem to have packed a lot in today, now I'm sitting down to think about it.

It started with our planned drive to Saumur, an hour up the road (if there aren't any tractors). We had hoped to find shops (open ones!) for the kids to spend their money. We were successful, there were some open shops, but still quite a lot of closed ones; a lot of the French are on holiday and just shut up for 2 weeks. But never mind, we walked across the river and took photos, then up to the chateau (but didn't go in) then after the compulsory coffee, we went back to the car and drove out to find somewhere to picnic. The weather was quite cool, and very cloudy, as you can see in the photo.

We drove to a small town called Montreuil Bellay. It was an amazing find. Following the signs for a picnic area, by the river and at the foot of it's own chateau, we parked up and had a relaxed lunch. If this had been the uk, we would have been stung for £3 parking alone, but France caters so well for anyone wanting to picnic in nice surroundings. There were picnic benches and in general it was a lovely location. I wandered along the road to a camp site. I've noted the details. Id like to come back here, perhaps touring one day. I think after my indecision a day or so ago, Jon and I have agreed that camping is what we love & we have missed it!

From there we drove to Thouars. A town nestled in the crook of the river, with a very ancient section. Lots of medieval buildings. The sun tried to come out. We then went back to E Leclerc, a particularly huge one, and did our last few bits of shopping.

We plan to stay in tomorrow. The nice weather is due to return, and we also have cleaning and packing to do. At least I finished my book last night, so I can leave that behind!

I've just got a few more evil bites so have had to head indoors to find trousers. It has been the only downside to my holiday....lucky I packed the mosquito bite cream!

Happy days!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.