In the Woods

Despite the best efforts of our SatNav to show us most of rural Normandy this morning we eventually made it to the Orne Adventure - a fabulous tree climbing park.
There were a few minutes stress and confusion getting everyone measured to see which courses they could do. And then measuring them again. And then having to pay for Mr K to go to as Miss L was too short to do one of the courses on her own!
Once that was all sorted they got trussed up in their harnesses (see extras), had a quick lesson in what to do and a couple of goes on some practice walks and zip slides and then off they went.
I loved the attitude towards health and safety! Not that it's not safe or that they don't care, just that you're expected to take some responsibility for yourself and your children. Very refreshing!!
We could hardly keep up with Miss E and Mr L as they ran off to begin the orange course. It was fabulous watching them climbing and swinging and balancing so high up and loving every minute of it. Miss L was  a centimetre or so too short for the orange course but after seeing her do so well on the slightly lower yellow course I was happy for her to go round with the others. She did brilliantly!
Miss E went off on the yellow course by herself and unfortunately had trouble with her harness at one of the junctions. She refused help from Mrs C and ended up stuck for ages until I went to track her down and had cut her hand on the cable. I had to climb up and help her (easier said than done!)
I went to the entrance cabin to ask for a plaster. Luckily Google Translate came to the rescue with "my daughter has cut her hand, do you have a plaster?" as I'm not sure my French was up to that!!
They gave me scissors, antiseptic wipes, plasters, and antiseptic spray.
Obviously I left Mr K to administer it all as Miss E over-reacting to pain always brings out the worst in me!! 
She was very brave and carried on climbing for a few more hours along with everyone else. I was so pleased as I thought she wouldn't be able to carry on.
We sat and had our picnic lunch - at 5pm! - before finally hanging up the harnesses and heading home. What a brilliant day!
Mrs C cooked delicious bolognese before we left this morning so dinner was very quick and easy when we got back. Then, after much debate - and voting and re-voting and squabbling and arguing and moaning - the film for the kids' movie night was settled: Maleficent 
Mr L wasn't happy about watching a stupid girl's film about fairies and gave up halfway through, my two were as rapt as ever, and I welled up as usual at the true love scene.
Unfortunately I've been feeling ropier and ropier as the day's gone on. It started with feeling a bit snotty this morning, then a sore throat and now a full on cold. Uugghhhhh!!
I coughed and sneezed my way through the film and then went up for an early night. Fingers crossed I feel better tomorrow.

Holiday Blips start here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.