Fixed It

A couple of days ago I mentioned that I had acquired a large black blob on the sensor of my Lumix LX5 camera and I was concerned it would have to go away for cleaning.

I did have an offer of old unused LX5 from another blipper - how amazing is that?

I did some 'research' into possible DIY cleaning methods and I did take the back off the camera but there were too many delicate looking ribbon cables joining it all together and so I chickened out. However, one of the more bizzare suggestions was to use a vacuum cleaner to try and suck the dirt out. After all it had been 'sucked' in by the action of the lens opening. Well I gave it a try yesterday and lo and behold it seems to have worked!

So today I took a shot of the 'setup' I used - the flexible hose end of our Dyson (other cleaners are available)  just fitted around the extended lens. I ran it for about 30 seconds! I just hope that whatever the debris was has come out and is not just floating around inside.

The blip is a collage of the before, the method and the after!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.