Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The power cut

I was in the process of setting up a still life to photograph when the power went off. It was the whole village so we were in complete darkness.

I left Mum in her armchair with strict instructions to stay there! and I stumbled off to find the candles. It's funny how difficult it is to find your way in a familiar house in complete darkness. The worst problem was that the stair lift alarm went off and kept going despite my best efforts to silence it. Later I was able to speak to the engineer and he told me how to switch the alarm off.

After some time, I had a few candles lit and even found Mum's iPad for her. That kept her out of mischief happily occupied for a couple of hours. We expected the power back on at 11pm but there was a flicker and no more. We made our way to bed and the lights came back on at abotu 3am. Radio 4 was in my ears and central heating came to life!  Half asleep I went around and switched everything off and put the fast freeze on.

Otherwise yesterday was at home, mainly on the phone all morning and asleep in the afternoon.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.