Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The GRAND DAY OUT

It's Wednesday and the day that the Haltwhistle Walkers go for walks. Today was our "grand day out" when all the groups travelled by coach to the seaside. There were 53 of us in total.

Some of us left the coach at Craster (famous for kippers) and walked 10 miles on the coastal path to Seahouses. Others started from Embleton and did about 6 miles. A few spent the day in Seahouses.

The Northumberland beaches are so beautiful. The sands are white and there are shells and rock pools and sand dunes.........

Today there were little family groups at regular intervals. We saw children splashing in the water or jumping over the rocks, Dads helping to construct complicated sand forts and sea defences, couples huddled behind wind breaks and lots of people walking dogs.

It was hot with a light breeze. My legs had their annual outing because I wore shorts. I enjoy it at the time and then regret it later. My lily white legs were repeatedly sprayed with factor 50 but I still managed to miss one area and have a sunburnt calf. (Bit sore, but I expect I'll live). My nose would rival Rudolph's. The sea breeze always gives a false sense of security in the sun.

Arriving at Seashouses well before the time for our booked meal, we wandered the streets. When I saw this man I immediately asked him "where is she?". "I've no idea," he said, "but her ice cream is melting".  "You have it" he said. "I can't do that." "Go on.........." but I demured.

I was delighted when he was happy to be photographed.

I'm shattered tonight. All that fresh air I expect.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.