Vive Le Pigtail

The only connection I have to a Chinaman is the fact that my Grandfather who was in the Merchant Navy was present during the Boxer Uprising in China in 1900
So why you might ask have I taken to affecting a pigtail. My childhood pigtails were docked when I felt I had outgrown them at the age of 12, but they say in age you regress to childhood so a pigtail is as far as I am prepared to go willingly into that stage.

The truth is that I got tired of the short back and sides hair style so favoured by His Lordship and in a spirit of defiance, I decided to grow my hair to see what would happen. Unfortunately it grows so slowly that after almost 3 years, this is the best I can manage to date. I doubt very much whether I will live long enough for me to sit on it.
As for two pigtails- age has decreed there not be enough hair and besides, that really would be a descent into childhood.

Needless to say HL is not a fan of the new style, but then neither is he a fan of dangly earrings or tattoos, so I try to ignore the comments. It is not as if he asked me if I am a fan of moustaches or beards. At least I have him trained not to say anything derogatory about the hair, but he still always has to comment on the dangly earrings.

There's a devil in me that considers the pleasure I would get in seeing the look on his face were I to get a tattoo. Fortunately the pain involved has put me off going down that road, which brings me back in a full circle to my Grandfather who had his two arms filled with tattoos which I remember as baskets of fruit and flowers. He was very embarrassed, as an upright elder citizen, of the impulsive folly of his seafaring days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.