The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

A for 'orses

...in the Cockney Alphabet. See here https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Cockney_Alphabet

I made an unexpected appearance at the White way Colony Fete, with my mobile card stall. Did well, so now have enough money to buy a wee twirly stand to put on my stall, because I need more vertical display space now that I have Christmas Stock, as well as everyday cards.

The Whiteway Fete is a regular in the Stroudies' calendar, though I haven't been for a number of years. The Colony was founded in the early 20 th century, forming a intentional community of people following Tolstoyan principles. It's changed a bit now, and because many of the houses are made of wood or non standard building materials, it's almost impossible to get a mortgage to buy there. The alternative is to self build.

This is a shot of the community field and horses. I'm not sure what was going on with them, or indeed anywhere else on the field, as I was rushed off my feet for a good while! Most of the stalls were up the other end, and the swimming pool was also open to all comers.

I got a lift up with friends Fred and Di, and back with Lea Anne and Louise and their children. So much to catch up on! Fred and Di are getting married (it's a third for him and a second for her) and the talk turned to wedding cake. Someone has suggested a sunflower-shaped lemon polenta cake! Mmmm, what's not to like?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.