Grateful Days

By Nickimags888

Tiny Tuesday - Golden Spider

I was hoping to blip a bee on my Cosmos blooms today for TT, but it's so overcast and dull and there are none about.

I went for a mooch down the track and ended up doing the back to front 'Adam Walk'. I spotted a squirrel overheard in the trees and managed a quick shot before it dived off somewhere out of reach of the zoom.

It was very still on the pond but there wasn't much happening down there at all. There are definitely lots more ducks on the reservoir, no doubt winter visitors, but there were also loads of seagulls about too, which seemed quite odd.

I had a mooch around the top of the reservoir hoping to maybe see Dartford Warblers but it was very quiet on the bird front. I took a rather overgrown path used by mountain bikers and had to pause when I was confronted by a garden spider in it's web, right across the path. Like any good blipper looking for a Tiny Tuesday subject, I immediately began snapping away hoping for a decent shot. I then had to decide whether I would carry on by breaking the web or go around it. Well of course the more I looked for another option I came across more and more webs with spiders in them. So I took more shots until I started feeling a teensy bit trapped. So, what did I do? I broke the web at one end, leaving the spider at the other and walked past very quickly shrugging off any webs and spiders I may have picked up. This is mine and TheAphid's favourite shot but there others on my Flickr if you fancy a look.

Thanks to dbifulco for hosting this month, more entries here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.