M31 HMS Cattistock Passing the Shipyard (11)

14.8C and dull with light cloud. Showers from 2pm. SSE wind to 28 mph with gusts to 39 mph.

Since rain was forecast for the afternoon and I had to take my car back to the garage for its repair a 3pm I decided to go for my walk this morning. BBC Radio 2 and Radio Scotland on the Clip.

I went round by Aquilibrium and past the harbour and the ferry terminal and along the shore path in the long narrow park then on out Kilkerran road past the Goldsmith's house and studio to the NATO jetty at Glenramskill  and then kept going until I reached the Doirlinn.

As I walked along the path in the park I noticed a ship of some sort about to pass behind Davaar island on its way North. Further out, when I was approaching the Goldsmith's house, I could see that it was a naval vessel and that it was coming into Campbeltown loch. By the time I had reached the Doirlinn the ship was near enough to get a few photos.

The ship was M31 HMS Cattistock a Hunt-class mine countermeasures vessel of the Royal Navy. She was launched in 1981 and commissioned on 5 March 1982. On the way back along the road there was the opportunity to get a passing the shipyard shot, this time from the opposite side of the loch rather than from the slope at the back of the shipyard.

I came back the same way I had gone out but went along the street side of the park and came back home through town past the town hall and the bookshop (closed).

When I got back home took Maeve the Deerhound out for her walk.

I took the car up to the garage at 3pm. I should get a call to pick it up tomorrow morning.

Afternoon music ... Queen, A Kind Of Magic. Dr Hook, Bankrupt.

E-PL5 f/9 1/200 sec. ISO-200 42mm

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.