An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Aaaaarrrgh!

So, it's 2.25am.  I'm awake and needing to pay a visit. 

Due to previous nocturnal encounters with 8-legged friends, I always use my phone torch to navigate my way to the loo.   For some reason this time I also put the loo light on.  And thank heavens I did, because look what was gazing up at me.  If your dog started barking for no reason during the night, it was probably my high-pitched scream that set it off.

After staring each other out, it eventually sauntered nonchalantly into a corner and I made my escape.  On the way back to bed I encountered his baby brother, a moth and a silverfish.  From now on shoes are going on when I get up in the night.  

Another buy day.  (Is there any other kind?)

David was home today as the gas board were finishing running the new pipe from the main road to the house.  The gas will get cut off tomorrow morning but they can't fit the new meter till Friday morning so we will have no heating, Aga or gas hob for 24 hours.  Great.

David, the jammy swine, has a colleague's leaving night out tomorrow so he won't really be affected by it.

Brother in law Kenny arrived at 11am and him and David got a load of stuff into the loft, out the way, before the building work affects us internally.   I rewarded them with rolls on bacon and square sausage.  Men are so easily bought :-))

Kirsty the dietician visited this afternoon and changed Alan's feeding tube to a button style that is flush with his skin.  This means there's no dangly tube that he could inadvertently get hold of and pull out.  He was a star while she made the change.  Didn't even flinch.  His appetite is also returning and he is much happier for it.  I am over the moon that he's come out of this colitis flare up so quickly.

Spent the evening trying to get organised for the weekend.  David is off on his annual golfing weekend to Portugal so Ele, Gail and Agnes (my fellow golf widows) are spending the weekend here.  Clean bedding on all the spare beds (done by David as I can't get upstairs.  There is an upside to having creaky hips ;-)) and Tesco order half done (the gin and tonic is on.  Just the food to add :D) 

All in all a busy but satisfying day.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.