A Bench in Good Light

My adventures on this day included a brief stop at Fairbrook Park, a lovely local park that my husband and I discovered (or perhaps rediscovered) quite by accident a little more than a year ago.

A bit of mist was still lingering on the hills. The breaking light was wonderful, and it made this little bench with a view look delightful and inviting.

I often take pictures of benches because I like the way they look and I like how the light wraps itself around them. I seldom get to sit on them because I am usually short on time, and even five minutes sitting is five minutes I didn't get to run around taking pictures.

But something is going to change. And soon. I have mentioned that after 30 years of working full-time for Penn State, on October 1, my schedule will be reduced to 4 work days instead of 5 work days each week.

This is an exciting change for me, as - other than summers off when I was school age - all 5 days of the week have been committed for me since about September of 1970, when I started grade school. I'm looking forward to getting one day per week back!

For better or for worse, they do not tell you when you are 5 and getting on that first school bus that it may be more than 40 years (and for some people, MUCH more!) before you get some of your days back. I think I'm up to the challenge of deciding what to do with those days.

My husband and I are already making big plans for all the things we want to do. One of my secret goals as my schedule permits me a bit more time here and there will be to SIT ON ALL THE BENCHES! :-)

The soundtrack is Cat Stevens, with Sitting.

Just for fun, for my fellow bench lovers, below are some links. This is a series I have been thinking of (jokingly to myself) as "Benches I Never Actually Get to Sit In." Here are some of the benches I plan to sit in, as I have more time!

Millbrook Marsh:
Blue Heron: 2, Photographer: 0
Black Willow and Bench

Spring Creek Park
The Gift of Good Light
Winter Comes to Spring Creek Park
And a Bench for Daydreaming
A Bench by a Stream

PSU Campus
Library Courtyard in the Snow
Down a Garden Path
The Fire Still Burns: Foliage and First Snow
Bench: Shadows and Light

PSU Arboretum
Sunrise from the Arboretum
Purple Irises
The Lily Pond, Late Summer
The Lily Pond: Breaking Light Over Susan's Bench

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.