The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

Sunflowers in production

Busy day, all of it fun!

I had a card stall at the Stroud Town Council's MacMillan coffee morning today. Raised £45 and spent lavishly. A variety of people came and went, and it seems that people are no longer shunning Christmas cards! This is good news, because on 8th August I had 83 packs...

After the raffle was drawn, CleanSteve and I rushed off to the theatre in Cheltenham, for the matinee of The Dresser. See CleanSteve's blip here. https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2228250949036543050
Really loved it: Ken Stott is such a fine actor! Also great to see blipper FrankS and Ann again. I last met up with them about a year ago, also at the the theatre. 

We had a beautiful ride back through the autumn afternoon, then I went to add up my figures for the morning. I happened to look out of the window, and saw my neighbour bearing a large leafy branch, so I asked her what she was doing. She said she was just coming to look at the laurel bush overhanging our garden from the left, because she needed some stems for her sunflowers.

I admit I hadn't a clue what she was on about, but she explained that she'd been making sunflowers, at the request of our mutual friends, Fred and Di, who are having a oldies' wedding next month. She invited me round to look at her sunflower factory, and I was amazed to see what she'd managed to do with recycled corrugated cardboard, yellow and brown crepe paper! She is amazingly good with her hands, and has a prodigious talent.

I went back to her house to donate some poster paper, in case it was helpful, and asked to take a picture. This one doesn't really do justice to her creations.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.