Newcastle Rally for Europe - Jonathan Wallace

Rainy this morning but by the time I left the house at 12.30pm it was fine and quite warm.  I walked down to the village to collect my repeat prescription.  Then I got the bus to Newcastle. 

I was heading towards St James Park for the football match when I came across a lot of activity around Greys Monument.  It turned out to be a Rally For Europe. When I first got there there was music playing - you can see the performers in my  Extras.  A strange duo singing about Dry Shampoo. No idea how it was relevant to the rally.

Then a speaker came on and I recognised him immediately.  He is Jonathan Wallace who is a Liberal Democrat councillor representing a ward in my village.  He is a long serving councillor and has been on the council since 1987 when he was aged 23. He lives locally and gave up his job 6 years ago to be self sufficient.  He keeps goats, chickens,ducks, quail and bees and grows fruit and veg.  He sells his produce at local events. I listened him to him for a short while but then I had to leave to go to the match.

Newcastle were playing Brentford.  It was an excellent game.  Newcastle won 3 - 1.  There was a crowd of over 51,000 and the atmosphere was good. Happy faces all round.

Shopping in Waitrose and Tesco after the match and an evening of TV viewing to complete the day.

( Lily seems a lot more settled today.  )

Steps today 10,480

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.