Abstract Thursday - "Pet"

Youoroegon1 has asked us to blip an abstract photo of our pet today. Fortunately for those of us who no longer have a pet (our aged goldfish died in August) he said we could photograph our spouse as an alternative.

This caused some amusement in our house.  Most blippers probably know that in Geordieland the word "pet" is often used as a term of affection - for example, to one's child or spouse (as in the TV series "Auf Wiedersehen Pet"). Well I was brought up in Newcastle so using the term was second nature to me, but my better half comes from the "deep south" of Cheshire and I am banned from using the term to her as she vehemently dislikes it. I guess it conjures up the image of me giving her a bowl of Winalot once a day and a bone to chew, tickling her behind her ears and taking her for "walkies" on a lead...and before you ask - no, I don't do any of these things...  ;-))

Anyway she nobly agreed to pose for me and then I attacked the result with Photoshop. After spending quite some time fiddling with all sorts of distortions and filters, I decided that I actually liked best the one-click effect of applying the "Difference Clouds" filter. So this is the result: I could have saved myself a lot of time if I'd gone straight for it!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.