Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Succession planning

It was cold, grey and wet this morning. Gradually the weather improved and I ventured out for a walk after 2.30pm.

The light was wonderful. As the sun dipped lower so the shadows lengthened. The wet leaves and fruits were dripping from the rain, so there were sparkling highlights all around me. To the east, the sky was inky blue with the occasional rainbow.

On my way I met Georgina with one of her three Norwegian elkhounds (see extra). This is the old lady of the group and has just a short walk these days. In fact, G has to exercise the adult and the puppy separately also, since their walking behaviour is not compatible yet!

Beyond Lincoln Hill, I turned from the minor road into a field. The horse chestnut was shining with yellowing, falling leaves. There are lots of fat, sticky buds already. I found one branch with new buds, old leaves and a conker in situ. It's Nature's succession planning!

No quizzy Monday tonight, so we will have to settle down with Autumnwatch.

Mum is still coughing but up this afternoon. Thanks for all your good wishes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.