Pumpkin Carvers

Mr K got up bright and early to get Miss E to swimming. 
I wasn't too far behind as I was opening up the shop for my dad.
Despite the mist, drizzle and gloom I decided to walk into town. It's about a twenty minute walk - downhill on the way and uphill on the way back - and I'm determined to do it as much as possible.
My brisk pace meant I got into town earlier than expected - and a bit hotter than I'd have liked!! 
The shop was much busier than I'm used to which was great. So many people doing Christmas shopping!! 
Mr K bought the Little Misses in when they'd finished swimming and had breakfast in Looby Lu's. It was nice to see them but unfortunately there were loads of people wanting to buy things at the same time and they didn't really understand the concept of the customer always being more important than the child!!
Mr K eventually herded them out.
Only to come back in fifteen minutes for my door key as they were locked out!
There's a key cutter over the road so he went and got a few spares while the Little Misses searched the shop for treasures. Miss E spotted a paperweight and started staring into and through it was to look into the future. 
Apparently I will have a very small head in the future!!
My dad came in at about 1pm and I set off home. Just over the road from the shop a man collapsed in front of me and banged his head on a car before banging his head on the ground. I called 999 as he wasn't moving. Naturally as soon as I was talking to the ambulance people he started trying to get up but was clearly completely drunk. The ambulance woman was a bit snippy asking was he injured, did he need an ambulance? Not having been to medical school for eight years how the bloody hell should I know?!!!!
He was insisting he was fine, completely incoherently and mumblingly, and she was clearly trying to get me off the phone.
By now a crowd had gathered, someone had sat him up and I just wanted to get home for lunch and a cup of tea!! The pharmacist from Boots came over and, abdicating all responsibility to a trained medical professional, I told the ambulance woman that we'd call back if necessary.
There were seven or eight people dealing with him by now so I left them to it.
The Little Misses had chosen a couple of pumpkins from the market earlier with Mr K and when I got home we set about carving them. I love seeing them concentrating on stuff like this. They love playing with knives and candles!!!
I spent the evening eating salmon, watching Strictly and waiting for a call which never came. 
We're looking at puppies and found a pretty perfect five month old cockapoo who's been completely trained. I spoke to the owner briefly earlier when I was in the shop this morning and he said he'd call back between 8-9pm. After waiting on tenterhooks until 10pm I realised he wasn't going to call. Annoying.
Back to trawling through the ads.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.