An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Toot, Toot, Chugga, Chugga...

Big Red Car  :-))

Apologies for the link.  It was the first thing I thought of when I saw this car today.   Alan was a huge fan of the Wiggles in his pre-school years.  If I had a pound for every time I've heard this song (and indeed three videos worth of Wiggles songs) I would be very rich indeed.

I woke up this morning feeling quite rested.  The first time for ages.  I was just having a stretch when my alarm went off.  Good timing.

D and I were out the house just before midday to head to the Fired Earth shop in Perth to look for tiles to go behind the aga.  It's not a huge space but we're really struggling to decide what we want there.

We were very lucky and managed to get parked right at the door.  What I hadn't appreciated was the tile shop is right next door to the Aga shop and once inside you can go from one to the other.  There was an Aga demonstration going on and the food smells wafting through were scrumptious.  

We spoke to a very helpful lady and after looking through a number of ranges we left with 4 samples.  Two white tiles, one dark blue tile and a very pale grey tile.  David did home in on a very beautiful tile that we both liked.....till we saw the price.  £299 per square metre!  :-o

Stopped for lunch at our favourite deli/cafe on the way back.   The waitress served our lunch, smiled and said "enjoy" and as she walked away, I realised she hadn't given us any cutlery.  I called her back and asked "can we have some cutlery please?"  Due to the music that was playing and the level of chatter from the other customers, she didn't hear me properly and said "Sorry, what can I get you?" and yes you've guessed it, right on cue, at the very moment I bellowed "CUTLERY!" the music stopped and the chatter faded and the poor waitress jumped about 10 feet in the air at my bark!    She laughed immediately afterwards though so all was well.

Once home it was time for the great reveal.  I haven't seen any of the building progress for two weeks as access from the house has been sealed off to try to keep dust levels down.   David unsealed one of the living room doors and I was able to step into the garden room.  Well, I was gobsmacked!  The garden room is all sheeted now just waiting to be plastered, the kitchen is fully plastered and the opening to the garden room fully formed.  The pool room is also sheeted and waiting to be plastered.  It all looks real now.  Properly formed.  I can see the end result in front of me and it's only a few weeks away.  Yipee!

This evening David, Alan and Alan's support worker Karen went up to Perth to see the fireworks.  I've been coughing again today so stayed home.   They had a lovely (if chilly) time and Alan returned tired but happy.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.