Remembrance Day

many years ago
young men went to war, to fight
to save our country

then, 

At 11am in the morn
of the eleventh day and
the eleventh month


The gunfire stopped, silence
November 1918, two minutes
today, silence


At 11am we will remember them

(I don't have any poppies but apparently the viola is a flower of  remembrance  according to Wikpedia the 'pansy

'was imported into Late Middle English as a name of Viola in the mid-15th Century as the flower was regarded as a symbol of remembrance')

more here



in other news I've got an interview for a permanent position on Wednesday next week.  The only thing is if I get the job its going to mean a trek down the A34 every day there and back (fine on a good day but means going past the accident blackspot)....  Will see how I find the journey on interview day.

I'm out all day tomorrow on my quarterly Footsteps (Theology) Study Day.  Tomorrow is all about Mission :)

Have a good weekend folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.