Desperately seeking

By clickychick

Derwentwater Again

This is a view that used to puzzle me. I've been to Derwentwater many times and had no idea how folk were finding this viewpoint for a blip. This year I found out how to get into this field! Through a gate, would you believe?

Anyhow, today I set off alone on an exciting adventure. I went out early, heading out west, to the home of someone I had never met (though it turned out she had seen me before). The lady in question was my niece. I had two half brothers. One of them was starting to get to know me just before he died. The even sadder thing was that his widow died a few years later. This was while S was in her early thirties.

Her Facebook friend request came to me just as I was composing an email to a mutual friend to find out who she was (her business didn't give her surname). Really spooky!  A lot of messages went back and forward between the two of us and today was the day we were to meet.

It delighted me when S opened the door and said I looked just like her dad! I always thought we were very alike (as much as a man and a woman can be!) My mum pointed him out to me when I was a child.

Ooooo! To add to the amazement, S had married L whose parents were also at the house, good friends of my mother's! Until I was being discussed this morning they had never made the connection with the surname.

I spent ages deciding how to present myself: sensible 60-something, relaxed cat lover or crazy-cat-lady! Guess which I chose!

Fabulous day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.