CHRISTMAS LIGHTS SWITCH ON

Had a nice lie in this morning and decided to have a lazy-ish day.  It was also a day of parcel deliveries.  Quite a few of my online purchases have arrived.

I have had the ( possibly mad ) idea to have an inner door fitted in my hallway to provide a kind of " airlock " so that when the front door is opened Tino doesn't dash out.  At the moment if I come and go I have to use the garage door.  And if I am at home and need to open the front door for any reason I have to check where Tino is first and close the door of whichever room he is in.  This is a bit tricky when there is a " parcel delivery person " ringing on the doorbell.  They never hang around for long. So today I made arrangement with 2 different joiners to call round tomorrow to give me quotes for the job.  I did contact another one but he didn't get back to me.

It was late when I went down to the village to collect a repeat prescription and get some shopping in Tesco.  So by the time I got there the Christmas lights had been switched on. The Christmas tree lights had also been switched on further along on the village green.  According to an e mail I received they had been due for switch on at 3.30pm.  The " Lighting Up Whickham " team are in charge of proceedings - they took over when the Council decided not to provide Christmas lights due to budget cuts.  Money is raised throughout the year at different events and the money goes towards the Christmas lights and also to buy plants to use in the flowerbeds around the village in the Summer.

After a cold night the weather was milder today. I was well wrapped up and felt rather over - dressed while I was out.

Listening to the match on the radio at the moment.  Hull v Newcastle - EFL Cup Quarter Final.  Its Full Time and the score at the moment is 0 - 0.  There will be Extra Time and if it remains a draw then there will be penalties.  Hull are down to 10 men.  Hopefully Newcastle can capitalise on this and win the match.

UPDATE .................. Newcastle LOST in the penalty shoot out. 

Steps today - 8,391

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.