LIVE THEATRE

Had a ticket for a performance at the Live Theatre in Newcastle this afternoon.  Got the bus to Gateshead, walked down to the Quayside, crossed the Millennium Bridge and made my way to the theatre. 

Part of the way there I met a lady who was lost and trying to find her way to the Law Courts so as I was going that way myself I said she could walk along with me.  When we got to the Court there was a bit of an angry crowd hanging about and TV cameras.  The trial taking place was a particularly distressing one involving the murder of a disabled man with learning difficulties.  Those involved were sentenced today.
 
Next stop The Live Theatre.  Never been there before.  Its quite small compared to The Theatre Royal. I had  booked late and got one of the last seats - I was sitting in the front row of the upstairs gallery so had an excellent view.  The play was called "  Harriet Martineau Dreams Of Dancing ". Two blip friends - walkingMarj and Shygirl73 have already seen it and recommended it. It was different to the performances I usually see but I did enjoy it a lot.  The acting was excellent. The lady sitting next to me was a descendant of Harriet Martineau's brother James.   My blip shot shows the set and a large quilt which was part of the performance.  Photos aren't very good as the lighting was poor.

I walked up into the centre of town after I came out of the theatre.  Went to Fenwicks Dept store to try and find some local ale to give to Mike for Christmas.  They had a good selection so I bought a couple of bottles.  Will go back another time and get a couple more. Checked out their wonderful Christmas window.  The theme this year is Beatrix Potter.

Steps today - 10,869

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.