Signing choir from the Northern Counties School

An early start this morning.  Got the bus at 8am into Newcastle.  Changed buses and headed for The Freeman Hospital.  Had to do some online research yesterday to find out which bus to get as I haven't been to The Freeman before. My appointment was for 10.45am  but I was there way before that as I had over - estimated how much time it would take.  Anyway I settled down to read my book but my name was called after a few mins.

The appointment was for an allergy test.  The consultant I saw at my local health centre organised it as I have been suffering from a stuffed up nose and congestion.  So the nurse put drops of different things on my arm and then pin pricked each drop.  Then I had to wait 10 mins.  You can see my arm HERE - I took the shot as I was waiting for the drops to take effect.

One of the drops had caused a reaction.   ( Luckily it wasn't the cat one.)  It was dust mites.  Apparently there are dust mites everywhere but not everyone is bothered by them -  but I am super sensitive to them.  I got an advice sheet of tips such as washing bedding at 60 degrees and not using feather pillows or duvet ( I don't anyway ). I have a follow up appointment booked locally for February.

I was out of the hospital before my original appointment time - what an efficient service.  Got the bus back to Newcastle and hit the shops.  Bought more local ales to give to Mike for Christmas, bought posh chocolates and posh coffee in Fenwicks to give as presents, bought a jacket for myself ( well it was reduced in the sale ) and picked up a click and collect order from a sports shop - stuff for Neil. And did a lot of browsing.

As I walked through Eldon Square shopping centre I saw this choir of deaf children  - they are a signing choir.  They were so enthusiastic and it was lovely just to stand and watch them for a while.

I finally got home around 6pm - all shopped out. Salmon and salad for my tea and then an evening of football on the radio. Newcastle were playing away at Nottingham Forrest. What a match it was.  Newcastle had 2 men sent off.  The Newcastle goalkeeper saved 2 penalties.  Newcastle scored - goal disallowed. Newcastle scored again.  Notts Forrest scored - twice.  Final score......  Nottingham Forrest 2  Newcastle 1.  Newcastle could have/should have won it.

Becky and Mike in London were watching the match on Sky and Neil was watching at work - and we were all  " Whatsapping " throughout the match..  It was fun.

Steps today - 12,821

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.