Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Christmas Traditions

Some Christmas traditions are delighful, but we have one that is not. Nearly every year, Mum is ill in the week leading up to Christmas or over the holiday itself. She's had pneumonia on more than one occasion and one year I had 'flu and was completely felled.

She's had a bit of swelling around one foot for about 3 weeks. Yesterday it became much worse, red and very painful. Today we attended the so-called "Walk in Clinic", except I pulled her backwards in a wheelchair. (I can't make the wheelchairs go forward, despite practising hard!)

We did not wait long. The GP on duty gave her the same differential diagnosis that I had. We probably have to go tomorrow for more tests; they can't even take blood at Hexham, but they can if we went 30 miles to the new emergency unit in Cramlington.

Most likely is cellulitis, so antibiotics are the drugs of choice.

She has a week to recover before Christmas Day. Here's hoping.

PS I have an awful feeling that there are apostrophes in the Trips, Slips and Falls poster, but it's out of focus so I won't mention it. I must be wrong!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.