BEFORE AND AFTER

Early start this morning as the joiner was due to arrive at 8.30am.  He was on time. He and his mate worked steadily for 4 hours to put framework and a new door in the hall to create a little lobby.  I am pleased with the end result.  I think I will just put a coat of fast drying clear varnish on the door as this seems to be the easy option. But I'm in no hurry to do it as I have a busy week ahead.  It will be great to be able to close the inner door and leave the house by the front door without worrying whether Tino will make a dash for freedom.  Recently I have had to come and go using the garage door which has been rather inconvenient.

I had locked Tino and Lily in the dining room while the work was being done and when I finally let them out they were very puzzled to find a new door in the hall. They still seem a bit wary of it this evening.

The workmen left around 12.30pm and I quickly had a tidy up, changed my outfit and got the bus to the Metrocentre.  Then another bus to where Neil and Rachael live.  Neil met me at the bus stop as I wasn't exactly sure how to get to their flat.  I have been once before but came from a different direction and in the dark.  I had Rachael's Christmas presents with me and this was the main reason for my visit.

I also wanted to take a look at The Staiths Cafe so we walked along the path by the River Tyne to make our way there. The route passes by  The Staiths which used to be the landing stage for the coal ships which came down the river.  The Cafe is in a good spot right on the river and we went upstairs so we could take advantage of the views.  Neil and Rachael had ciabattas and I had a No Carb Tuna Nicoise Salad. The salad was lovely but there was so much lettuce that I couldn't eat it all.  I took this shot of Neil and Rachael on the steps to the cafe.

When we walked back along the river to Neil and Rachael's there was a lovely sunset.  I spent some time in their flat just chilling out and watching part of The Top 50 Christmas Songs on TV.  I left around 6pm to get the two buses home.  More TV this evening - The Apprentice.  Really enjoyed it.

I seem to be losing my voice.  I have talked quite a lot today especially when I was with Neil and Rachael and sometimes just a squeak came out. I am resting it this evening which is easy when I'm on my own. 

Steps today - 9,484

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.