St Mary's Heritage Centre, Gateshead

Felt slightly better this morning after a good nights sleep. Managed to eat some porridge.  I didn't enjoy it but I had promised my daughter I would eat breakfast today ( I had nothing to eat yesterday except some grapes )

I had a ticket for a festive performance of The Tales of Beatrix Potter at St Mary's Heritage Centre in Gateshead and I decided I felt well enough to go. A cinema had been set up in St Mary's Church with the chairs all covered with cosy throws.  The animated films were originally produced by the BBC in 1982 and capture the originality and joy of Beatrix Potter’s own drawings  introduced with cameo performances by Niamh Cusack. We saw Peter Rabbit, Jemima Puddleduck, Mrs Tiggy - winkle and Mr Jeremy Fisher.  There were about 20 adults in the audience and 10 or so children.  In one corner were some real rabbits for the children to stroke.  The films lasted an hour.

Afterwards I got the bus to Newcastle where I did some shopping.  Got home around 6pm.  Had a ready meal for my tea.  I never buy ready meals these days but today I didn't feel motivated to cook anything from scratch and I wanted something quick and easy.  So I had chicken and chorizo paella from Tesco.  It was  quick and easy but not something I would bother getting again.

Around 8pm the phone rang.  It was my brother - the one with Aspergers who hardly ever gets in touch and usually only if he has a problem.  Thankfully this evening there was no problem.  He wanted to know the address of our other brother so he could send a Christmas card.  The call lasted 2 hours.  Lovely to hear from him but by the end I was getting rather weary. When he gets started he can talk, and talk.... and talk. Hopefully next year I will be able to persuade him to meet up as its years since I have seen him.  Its not for the want of trying on my part.

Steps today - 5,687

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.