Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Premature arrival

Oh dear, oh dear. Santa has arrived too early. It's a good job that the fire was not on at the time, although our new central heating has us toasty warm, so the fire may not be used much in the future.

I've had the feeling that this is Christmas Eve, so perhaps Santa was connected to my thought waves.......

I shopped early, queuing to enter Aldi at 0900. I had just a few things to buy, so it was relatively easy. Then I went to the centre of Hexham where most of the shops were still closed. I shopped at Iceland. Did you know that their mince pies have been rated the best for 2016, beating all the other supermarket leaders and Harrods and Selfridges. At £1.50 per pack of 6 you can't go wrong. (We tested them ourselves with a cup of tea this afternoon and they are very good.)

My last place to shop was the Deli in Beaumont Street. I was there when the doors opened at 0900, but the bread I had ordered was not. It was arriving after 1000. I could not wait, but had to rethink the special bread crumb topping I was planning for the salmon on Boxing Day. That necessitated a foray to find parsely, but there was none to be found. I could not face going back to Aldi or to Waitrose so I had to improvise. (Hazelh and Mr Hazelh will no doubt report if my new recipe works or not!)

I've put up cards and made bread sauce.

Now it's time to sit back and watch Last Tango in Halifax.


Mum's ankle is no better and she is unable to do more that sit with her foot up. Thanks for all your messages of good wishes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.