Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Well met in Hexham

This morning I felt cautiously optimistic that the steroids were working on Frozen Fred, but as the day wore on, I was back to square one.  Another couple of days and I'll know.

The morning flew by. After lunch the deacon of Mum's church came to visit. I made them tea etc., then I popped into Hexham. I wanted to see the last minute crowds doing their shopping.

It was an emotionally mixed experience. I saw one elderly couple clearly struggling with their shopping in Aldi. They both looked ill. There were a number of men on their own, who looked down at the heel and I wondered if they would be alone for Christmas. One couple, with a few children in tow, were buying the smallest turkey you have seen. Christmas can be such a pressure for people.

Then I came across the Rotary collector. My walking friend, Roy, is on the right of the image. It was good to see him and hear about his improving health. I've promised to send the image on to him.

My second image nearly made it to the top slot, but, you know me, people will always win over places. I had just parked the car and saw the lights in Beaumont Street, near to Hexham Abbey.

All set for a quiet night in.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.