Hot Already

What a great way to start a new day and a new year. I knew it would be hot this morning but not that hot this early. By 9.30am it was 28 degrees. Still, it was good to get up to the Summit Rd on the Port Hills for the first time this year. It was even better to get back to my cool drink in the car.

Then it was home to eat, drink copious amounts of water. After that I headed outside to do what I could before the heat drove me in again. I have a little bit of fence painting left to do but I'll wait until it's cooler. I treated some stubborn algae and then started a new project. 

The Fix the Cracks project is to earthquake related. The asphalt driveway butts up against the foundation of my home and the paved area at the back where the fence line meets the driveway. Bits of asphalt have either cracked or broken where it's moved against the house or pavers/fence in the earthquakes. I've had a bag of cold mix asphalt to patch it with for ages. Today I started.

Even in the shade it wasn't easy with the heat and wind picking up debris. It's good to be underway and it should reduce the amount of weeds that spring up in the cracks.

I have plenty of grime and sun block to wash off before I head out for a bbq with a mate who appreciates craft beers. It will be a good time, lots to catch up and our mutual appreciation to enjoy in the heat.

Another fine day in the this extended holiday weekend.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.