Resolutions

Finally got airborne on the last day of my Christmas leave on this sunny yet crisp day. A gentle 10 knot wind made for lovely conditions to take a bimble around the Kent coast in the Cub although at 2,000 feet our feet got cold with temperatures around freezing.

Flew P2 from the back with my friend P1. It was challenging keeping my heading without the aid of the compass and a clear view but it was wonderful to fly all the same. We flew over the Eurostar station and Dover Castle, the Battle of Britain memorial and white cliffs before heading back to the flying strip for a lovely side slip approach when I took this photograph. For non-fliers it's a gentle way of losing height quickly and suits the Cub as it is without flaps.

I spent around 16 hours in this Piper Cub during my ab initio flight training but never had the chance to fly tailwheel solo due to unsuitable weather that winter (2010). This year my resolution is to finally solo a tailwheel aircraft.

Thanks to Marlieske for hosting Mono Monday this month and for the Resolution theme. Next Monday is a Frog's Eye View. More here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.