Which direction?

Productive first day back in the estate office at the Castle today despite the mourning of my hibernation mode, i.e. not being in pyjamas at noon!

Starting the day de-icing the car and hearing a heart sinking whining noise from a wheel bearing on the journey into work was hardly joyful.

Before 930am my colleagues and I had already swapped who had the lurgy over the holidays, what surprises Santa had brought and one of the team was already booking leave whilst I complained the heating wasn't working and another set a reminder to book the first week of January off next year.

There was no time for moaning the rest of the day as I prepared a news story on record visitor numbers and issued editorial on Valentine's.

My colleagues and I discussed how we felt like we'd been pulled in different directions all day but we got through it and more or less left the remaining Christmas chocolates alone.

The photo is a gaggle of greylag geese by the Great Water just as the sun was sinking. The geese don't seem to know which direction to look either. I suspect they're wondering where all the visitors have gone with their extra food!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.